Class gifts presented, alumni recognized during Homecoming

Posted on 03 October 2012 by

Four alumni reunion classes presented gifts to Tusculum College in commemoration of their reunion year during Homecoming activities.

The classes of 1962 and 1952 presented class gifts during the award dinner on Friday evening. To celebrate its 50th anniversary, the class of 1962 members presented a check of $17,050 to Dr. Nancy B. Moody, president of Tusculum College.

Presenting the gift from the Class of 1962 to Tusculum President Nancy B. Moody were Sally Goodman Gentsch, Bob Nielsen, Linda Clowers Nielsen, Lynn Battle, Jane Rausch Battle, June Gieselberg Nyholm, Jack Fowler, Bob Riser and David Nyholm.

In celebration of its 60th anniversary, members of the Class of 1952 presented a $1,000 check as well.

Presenting the 1952 Class Gift to Dr. Moody were, from left, Connie Parker Sinkway, Joan Mackey McKnight, Jean Oakes Olcott, Ken Wander, Hugh Jaynes and Ralph McKnight.

The classes of 1987 and 2002 presented class gifts during the annual meeting of the Tusculum College Alumni Association on Saturday morning. The class of 1987 presented a gift of $525.

Dr. Moody accepts the gift from the class of 1987 from Vera Ann Ricker Myers.

The class of 2002 presented a gift of $1,685. The class gift was made in memory of Jill Lucas, who passed away during her senior year following a traffic accident. Three of Lucas’ teammates on the volleyball team presented the gift to Dr. Moody.

Homecoming is also a time for alumni to recognize those amongst their ranks who have excelled. Three awards were presented during the All Alumni Award Dinner on Friday evening at the General Morgan Inn.

Dr. Judith Kofroth Domer, a 1961 alumna, was the recipient of the Pioneer Award, the highest honor bestowed by the Alumni Association. Dr. Domer, who lives in Asheville, N.C., a microbiologist and retired dean of graduate studies and research at Appalachian State University. She has served many years on the Tusculum College Alumni Executive Board and served as the board president from 2005-2007. Dr. Domer is currently a member of the college’s Board of Trustees.

Dr. Moody accepts the class gift from members of the Class of 2002. The gift was made in memory of classmate and volleyball player Jill Lucas.

“This year’s recipient of the Pioneer Award has exemplified the ideals of Tusculum College and has faithfully served her alma mater throughout her life,” said Dr. Nancy B. Moody, president of Tusculum, in presenting the award. “She has also excelled in her professional life and is an example to our current students of the many successes that await them upon graduation if they work hard and stay the course.”

Recognized with the National Living Faculty Award was Dr. Deborah Bryan, assistant professor of art. Bryan has taught at Tusculum since 2007 and is known as a professor who is committed to her students’ success, giving them individual attention inside and outside the classroom, said Jane Morse, a 1977 alumna and member of the Alumni Executive Board, in presenting the award.

Dr. Judith Kofroth Domer '61 accepts the Pioneer Award from Dr. Moody. The award is the highest honor bestowed by the Alumni Association.

Morse also presented the Frontier Award to Eugenia Estes, a 2004 graduate from the Graduate and Professional Studies program at the college. Estes serves as associate director of communications.

Dr. Deborah Bryan, winner of the National Living Faculty Award











Eugenia Estes '04, recipient of the Frontier Award

Comments are closed.

Advertise Here

Photos from our Flickr stream

See all photos

Advertise Here


60 Shiloh Road, Greeneville, Tennessee 37743