Tusculum professor honored by East Tennessee College Alliance

Posted on 23 April 2013 by srichey@tusculum.edu

The East Tennessee College Alliance hosted the 14th Annual Lifelong Learning awards ceremony and luncheon on Wednesday, April 17, at the Foundry on the World’s Fair Site in Knoxville.

Dr. Eva Cowell, assistant professor of management at Tusculum College, received the Adult Educator of the Year award, and Ms. Annie Wright of Tennessee Wesleyan College was chosen Adult Learner of the Year.

Dr. Cowell has 23 years of organization, departmental and personnel development and training experience, including previous employment as human resource manager at Sears Roebuck and Company and as operations manager at TJ Maxx.

She has a Bachelor’s of Arts degree in sociology, a Master’s of Science degree in human resource development and is currently working on completion of her doctorate in human resource development, all at the University of Tennessee at Knoxville.

Dr. Cowell has been published in “Educational Gerontology” and the “Journal of Business Communication.” She is a member of Beta Gamma Sigma International Business Honor Society, Omicron Delta Kappa Leadership Honor Society and Phi Kappa Phi Academic Honor Society.

Professionally, she is a member of the Academy of Human Resource Development, the American Society of Training and Development and the Southern Management Association.

Dr. William Lyons, deputy to the mayor and chief policy officer, represented Mayor Madeline Rogero, and proclaimed April 17 as Lifelong Learning Day for the City of Knoxville. Dr. William Lyons was the guest speaker at the ceremony.

Corporate awards were presented to businesses that have provided higher education opportunities for their employees. This year’s recipients include AT&T, Enrichment Federal Credit Union, Iron Mountain and Life Care Center of Jefferson City.

ETCA is a consortium of 11 regionally accredited colleges and universities dedicated to providing educational opportunities for non-traditional, working adults.

The East Tennessee College Alliance member institutions are: Carson-Newman University, Cleveland State Community College, Johnson University, King University, Lincoln Memorial University, Milligan College, Pellissippi State Community College, Roane State Community College, Tennessee Wesleyan College, Tusculum College and Walters State Community College.



Comments are closed.

Advertise Here

Photos from our Flickr stream

See all photos

Advertise Here


60 Shiloh Road, Greeneville, Tennessee 37743