Students in Omicron-Psi National Honor Society recognized

Sixty-four students of the Tusculum College Graduate and Professional Studies program were recognized for their membership in the Omicron-Psi National Honor Society prior to commencement exercises on Dec. 16.

During a reception in their honor, members were presented with pins, certificates, letters of congratulation, and blue and gold cords to wear when they graduate from Tusculum by President Dr. Dolphus E. Henry; Dr. Kimberly K. Estep, provost and academic vice president; and Denise Wood, vice president of extended education. Sixty-one graduated during the commencement ceremony later in the day.

Students are eligible for membership in Omicron-Psi if they are among the top 5 percent of the Bachelor of Science in Organizational Management graduates or have a grade point average of 3.5 or better in the master degree programs.

Members of the honor society from the Master of Arts in Education (K-12 concentration) program recognized were Erin Coffman and Cynthia Hardee of Kingsport, Della Gilliam and Elizabeth Kilbourne of Limestone, Daniel Myers of Parrottsville, and Tim Fuller, Melanie Smith, and Jessica Wilhoit of Greeneville.

Connie Earls and Charles Williams of Russellville, Chad Gregg and David Parr of Greeneville, Shayne Harrison and Lisa Houser of Knoxville, Susan Housley of Oak Ridge, Kyle Satterfiend and Lisa Satterfield of Greenback, Gregory Miller of Jefferson City, and Tony Watson of Pigeon Forge were inducted into the honor society from the Master of Arts in Education (Organizational Training and Education concentration) program.

Master of Arts in Education (Human Resource Development) program students inducted into Omicron Psi were Shelly Dunkel and Sara Rummage of Rockford, Donna McCall of Louisville, Amy Setzkorn of Seymour, and Sheryl Burnette, Treasa Mason, and Wakita Myers of Knoxville.

Inducted into the honor society from the Master of Arts in Organizational Management program were Chris Beach of Jonesborough, Rebecca Griffin of Greeneville, Mary Ann Condry and Jeffrey Cornett of Knoxville, Amara Doran of Gray, Kathryn Rutledge of Kingsport, Crystal Hirschy of Afton, Anne Hubbard-Rutherford of Kingston, and Doreen McCammon of Kodak.

Bachelor of Science students chosen for membership into Omicron-Psi were Martin Anderson and Natasha White of Clinton, Leslie Brooks of Whitesburg, Melissa Dixon of Church Hill, Barbara Evans of Jefferson City, Gary Evans and Daniel Matherly of Kingsport, Shannon Hargis of Knoxville, Jim Mitzel of Corryton, Michelle Reed of Limestone, Sandra Roy of Rockwood, Tammy Sharpe of Loudon, Bobbie Watson of Mountain City, Karen Sheets of Weber City, Va., and Rebecca Douthat, Kimberly Jones, and Karen Malone of Greeneville.

Dorothy Jacobs of Knoxville and Matthew Smith of Lake City from the Bachelor of Arts in Education program were inducted in the honor society.
Also recognized were four students in the master’s program and five in the bachelor’s degree program who have indicated to the college that college-related news about themselves should not be released to the media.
The reception was organized by Carolyn Gregg, co-director of the Warren W. Hobbie Center for the Civic Arts who serves as advisor to Omicron-Psi, and by Nancy Thomas, director of the college’s Honors Program who serves as advisor to Alpha Chi.